top of page

Shirtz Conducts Brahms

The Firelands Symphony Chorale and Chamber Orchestra present Brahms Requiem conducted by Michael Shirtz.

The Requiem is one of the most beautiful and insightful masterworks about the celebration of life and comforting those that mourn the dead. Brahms features rich melodies set to the text of biblical passages that ask questions of faith and understanding during a time of mourning - leading listeners through a series of lessons in finding comfort and joy through the gift of everlasting life.

“This Requiem is different than other composer’s because it literally relates to the people who are mourning the loss of a loved one and not necessarily the person who has passed,” said Michael Shirtz, conductor of the Symphony Chorale.

“It is a glorious work that brings us through the human emotions and assurance of comfort in death. A very innovative and forward-thinking composition for Brahm’s to compose during his time.”

Brahms Requiem, commonly called, “The German Requiem,” is about an hour in length going through six movements. Shirtz will conduct the Symphony Chorale & Chamber Orchestra with baritone soloist Mark Wilkinson joining the performance from the Ohio State University. Also featured is chorale member Elisha Hofer of Sandusky singing the soprano solo and Morgan Noon accompanying on organ.

Concert Information:

Sunday, March 25, 2018 at 4:00pm

St. Mary's Catholic Church

429 Central Avenue, Sandusky, Ohio

(1-hour concert with no intermission)

General admission tickets are $15 per person.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page